Shelflife C-Store Awards 2017

The Shelflife C-Store Awards 2017 were there usual glittering affair, celebrating the triumphs and heroes of the convenience store sector. Taking place in the stunning Royal Marine Hotel, the finalists were some of the top convenience stores in the country, with the fight for the top spot neck and neck in many of the categories.

From awards for Best Food to Go department to Best Car Accessories department, all culminating in the prize of night Supreme Convenience Store of the  Year, all aspects of the convenience industry were recognised and celebrated. Filan’s Centra, Sligo scooped the top prize of the night, along with being crowned the National Winner (Stores under 1,500 sq. ft.).

Excel Recruitment have been proudly associated with the awards since the early years and was delighted to present Best Impulse Offering to Spar, Tipperary Town Plaza. However, this year’s awards were even more special when the award for C-store Convenience Store Champion was presented to Gus O’Hara, an outstanding retailer and the father of Excel’s Head of Grocery Nikki Murran.

The ShelfLife National C-Store Awards, now in its 17th year, was set up to acknowledge stores and individuals that set the standards for the industry. From all the Excel Recruitment team, congratulations to all this year’s incredibly deserving winners and finalists. See you next year!

Full list of which can be seen below-

C-Store Award Winners 2017 - Click To View

Best Food To Go Department – Caseys Londis/Topaz,  Castlebar

Best News Department – XL, Eyre Square Galway.

Best Car Accessory Section- Topaz City Avenue, Citywest, Dublin 24

Best Fresh and Chilled – Spar Parkwest.

Best Sports & Protein Offering- Applegreen, Swords

National Lottery Retail Store Of the Year- Topaz/Daybreak, Dungarvan, Waterford

Best C-Store Off License- McGloin Gala, Foxford, Mayo

Best Solid Fuel Retail – Londis/Topaz,  Aghagad, Grange, Sligo

Staff Development Award – Top Oil/Daybreak Service Station, Castleblaney, Monaghan

Best Community Initiative – Griffin’s Londis, Grafton St, Dublin 2

Best New Format Store – Lee’s Centra, Charleville, Cork

Best Impulse Offering Award- Spar, Tipperary Town Plaza

Champion of the Year – Gus O’Hara

Best Retail Technology Supplier – JBM Merit

New Product Launch Winner – Cadbury Roundies

Best C-store Marketing – Fulfil

Product of the Year – Coca Cola

Wine of the Year – Blossom Hill.

Bakery Award- Costcutter Taylor Lane

Best Start-Up- Nutriquick

Supplier of the Year – Aryzta Food Solutions Ireland.

Forecourt of the Year (Small) – Maxol/Mace in Ballycoolin, Dublin 15.

Forecourt of the Year (Large)-  O’Briens Costcutter/Amber, & Topaz Dublin Port

C-Store of the Year < 1500 sq. ft. – Filan’s Centra, Castle St, Sligo

C-Store of the Year 1500 – 2500 sq. ft. – Spar Custom House Square, IFSC

C-Store of the Year 2500 – 4000 sq. ft. –  Spar/Texaco, Fermoy, Co.Cork

C-Store of the Year 4000 + sq. ft. – Lee’s Centra, Charleville, Co.Cork

National C-Store of the Year – Filan’s Centra, Castle St, Sligo